Vai al contenuto principale



The Department of Humanities’s organisational structure is based on three governing bodies that are responsible for organising and managing research, courses and outreach/public engagement:

  • the Department Management
  • the Department Board
  • and the Department Council

These bodies use several department commissions in order to honour their functions. The Department bodies and commissions’ composition, powers and functioning are governed by the Department's Operating Rules.

Where present, the Research Commission, Course Commission and Outreach/Public Engagement Commission plan and coordinate all Department research, course and outreach/public engagement commitments. These commissions provide opinions to the Department Council and Board and assessment bodies, as well as contributing to drafting the Department's annual planning and three-year plan and to revising the scientific-cultural and course design. They promote efficient pooling of Department of Humanities’s resources and staff regarding specific objectives and oversee the promotion of international exchanges.

The Planning/Staffing Commission monitors course, research and outreach/public engagement needs and recommends lecturer and technical-administrative staff planning to the Department Board, in order to guarantee research development and curriculum sustainability.

Other temporary or permanent commissions are also set up in the Department with investigative and/or advisory or operational tasks which the Board delegates.

The Department draws up a three-year plan, which can be updated annually, for research, course, outreach/public engagement commitments, including technology transfer and internationalisation.

Management, technical and administrative services however are grouped together into a Centre. The Department of Humanities belongs to the Humanities Centre together with the Departments of Philosophy and Education SciencesHistorical StudiesForeign Languages, Literatures and Modern Cultures.
The Centre provides technical-administrative services which are made up of seven areas and a central Office that provide:

Support for Departmental institutional activities
- Administration and accounting
- Teaching and student services
- Research support
- Library services
- ICT, Web and E-learning services
- Logistics services
- Services for internationalization
- E
vent organization and communication

Detailed information is published in the Italian version of the Department website

The Director represents the Department and chairs the Council. The Executive ensures the respective resolutions are carried out. The Director is responsible for the Department’s level of research, the standard of teaching together with the so-called "third mission"; in relation to this, it can appoint its own delegate with specific tasks.
The Director appoints at least two Deputy Directors of the Department and assigns the role of Deputy Director to the Deputy Director of Teaching or to the Deputy Director of Research.

Alberto Pelissero

Deputy Directors

The Departmental Council is composed of:

  • the entire teaching body
  • representatives of technical-administrative Staff
  • representatives of research Fellows and postgraduate Students
  • representatives of PhD Students
  • Student Representatives

The Departmental Board supports the Director, makes proposals and carries them through.

The Commissions for Teaching and for Research are also established within the Department.

Last update: 20/06/2023 13:27
Non cliccare qui!